Quick Links

Quick Links

Nyewood CE

Junior School

Google Services

Google Translate

Google Translate

Google Search

Google Search


Our Governors

The Governors of Nyewood CE Junior School are people who have been appointed to ensure that the children at Nyewood CE Junior School are given every opportunity to fulfill their potential. Some of us are parents of children at the school and some are not. We’re all different – and that’s the whole point, because we are all able to help the school to continue to develop and grow. The Governing Body is the ‘critical friend’ of the school and, as such, seeks to ensure that we fulfill our aims and objectives and meet statutory requirements. It consists of parents, staff and local church representatives and a Local Authority member.


Governors have a key role in overseeing curriculum policies, appointing staff, care and maintenance of the building, monitoring grounds and equipment and setting the budget. We also work closely with the Senior Leadership Team to create a longer term Strategic Development Plan for the school, an annual School Development Plan and much more.


As a group, we commit a great deal of time and energy to fulfilling our statutory responsibilities. We all sit on one of the key committees: Effectiveness of Leadership and Management; Quality of Teaching, Learning and Assessment; Personal development, Behaviour and Welfare and Outcomes for Pupils. In addition we are all linked to a particular area of responsibility, such as a curriculum subject, data, finance, pupil premium including sports premium and premises amongst others, and try to spend some time each term in school investigating our designated area. It can be hard work, but it is interesting and extremely rewarding to know that along with the Head Teacher and all his staff we can help make a real difference to our children’s school and their education.

Who are our Governors?


At Nyewood CE Junior School our governing body consists of:


a. Two parent Governors (voted in by the parent community of the school if there is more than 1 candidate)


b. One local authority governor (appointed by the local authority)


c. One staff governor (voted in by the teaching staff of the school)


d. One headteacher. Seven Foundation governors (appointed by the church)

The total number of governors is twelve.  The Chichester Diocese Board of Education shall appoint five Foundation Governors from the local parishes on the recommendation of the Parochial Church Councils of the Parish of St Wilfrid, Bognor Regis and the Parish of Aldwick. The holders of the following office shall be foundation governor ex-offio: The incumbent of the Parish of St Wilfred, Bognor Regis and the incumbent of the Parish of Aldwick.  All of these governors have a special remit to ensure that the school preserves its particular religious character.


Our Governors are:

Rebecca Webb (Chair)

Claire Williamson (Vice Chair)

Jon Williams

Lynette Mitchell

Mindy Fowler

Ollie Hughes

Nigel Brown

Fr. Joel Mennie

Clare Hughes

Toni Dean

Governor attendance at Full Governing Body meetings of 2020-21