Meet the Governors

Who are the Governors?

The Governors of Nyewood CE Junior School are various people who have been appointed over the years to ensure that the children at Nyewood Juniors are given every opportunity to fulfil their potential. Some of us are parents of children at the school and some are not. We’re all different – and that’s the whole point, because we are all able to help the School in different ways due to our variety of experiences. We all have our own reasons for joining the Governing Body, but we are united in our efforts to continue to develop and improve the school.

The Governing Body is the ‘critical friend’ of the school and, as such, seeks to ensure that we fulfil our aims and objectives and meet statutory requirements. It consists of parents, staff and local church representatives and a Local Authority member.

Governors have a key role in overseeing curriculum policies, appointing staff, care and maintenance of the building, monitoring grounds and equipment and setting the budget. We also work closely with the Senior Management Team to create a longer term Strategic Development Plan for the school, an annual School Development Plan and much more.

As a group, we commit a great deal of time and energy to fulfilling our statutory responsibilities. We all sit on one of the key committees: Effectiveness of Leadership and Management; Quality of Teaching, Learning and Assessment; Personal development, Behaviour and Welfare and Outcomes for Pupils. In addition we are all linked to a particular area of responsibility, such as a curriculum subject, data, finance, pupil premium including sports premium and premises amongst others, and try to spend some time each term in school investigating our designated area. It can be hard work, but it is interesting and extremely rewarding to know that along with the Head Teacher and all his staff we can help make a real difference to our children’s school and their education.


What is the make-up of the Governing Body?

The Governing Body consists of:-

a. Two parent Governors (voted in by the parent community of the school if there is more than 1 candidate)

b. One local authority governor (appointed by the local authority)c. One staff governor (voted in by the teaching staff of the school)d. One headteacher. Seven Foundation governors (appointed by the church)The total number of governors is twelve.The Chichester Diocese Board of Education shall appoint five Foundation Governors from the local parishes on the recommendation of the Parochial Church Councils of the Parish of St Wilfrid, Bognor Regis and the Parish of Aldwick.The holders of the following office shall be foundation governor ex-offio: The incumbent of the Parish of St Wilfred, Bognor Regis and the incumbent of the Parish of Aldwick.
All of these governors have a special remit to ensure that the school preserves its particular religious character.


The Governors

Mark Gordon (Chair)

Mary Nagel (Vice Chair)

Sally Pilgrim

Keith Richards

Jon Williams

Colin Gayle

Sheila Chittenden

Father Mark Eminson

Lynette Mitchell

Elizabeth Vaughan

Mindy Fowler

Ollie Hughes

Michelle Sinclair (Clerk to the Governing Body)


The Governors Information